The White Plains Historical Society

Annual Dinner 2011

May 12, 2011 - White Plains, NY.

The 22nd Annual Dinner Event was held on May 12th at the White Plains Woman's Club, the first time at this location. President Rob Hoch presided.

An honor guard of war re-enactors led by Trustee Denis Jones presented Old Glory. Trustee George Jones led the Pledge of Allegiance. Pianist Suzanne Hoch accompanied all in the singing of our National Anthem. The invocation was given by Father Gawain deLeeuw of St. Bartholomew's Episcopal Church.

In attendance were State Senator Suzi Oppenheimer, Assemblywoman Amy Paulin, Westchester County Legislator Bill Ryan, Mayor Tom Roach, and Common Council Members Ben Boykin, Milagros Lecuona, Dennis Power, Beth Smayda, John Martin and David Buchwald, Society Members and guests.

The Citizens Extraordinaire Award was conferred upon Barbara and Paul Schwarz. Their son and friends were present to witness this proud moment. Mayor Tom Roach made the introduction and presentation. This day has been designated as "Barbara and Paul Schwarz Day" in the City of White Plains announced Mayor Roach, and also in the County of Westchester made known Legislator Ryan.

The guest speaker was writer and historian Thomas B. Allen, who spoke on "Tories, Fighting for the King in America's First Civil War".

On display was an exhibit of artifacts on loan from the Sons of Union Veterans of The Civil War, provided courtesy of former Trustee Michael Bennett.

Our "Replace the Roof" Raffle raised $2,500 of the $35,000 needed!

Table centerpieces were provided by Amodio's Garden Center, Nursery and Flowershop.

White Plains Woman's Club
Guests Arriving

Check In
iriam Varian, Patti and Ray Indelicato, Dan Haines, Roseanna Washington, Bruce Handler

Cocktail Hour Begins...

Councilman/Trustee David Buchwald

Civil War Exhibit

Civil War Exhibit

Civil War Exhibit

Councilwoman Milagros Lecuona and Dr. Saul Yanofsky

American Soldiers - All Eras
Michael Grillo, Trustee Denis Jones, Brian Shay, Eben Turnure (grandson of one of the founders of the Woman's Club), and Jack Ciotti with First VP John Vorperian

Honoree Barbara Schwarz, Councilman Ben Boykin, Speaker Thomas Allen, Guest Evelyn Evans

Judge/Trustee Bob Friedman

Honor Guard

National Anthem

Father Gawain deLeeuw of St. Bartholomew's Episcopal Church

President Rob Hoch

Barbara and Paul Shwartz

Mayor Tom Roach

Paul and Barbara Shwartz
Citizens Extraordinaire

County Legislator Bill Ryan

Guest Speaker Thomas B. Allen

Raffle Prizes

Photographs by Rob Hoch and Lou DeGenaro