The White Plains Historical Society

Annual Dinner 2012

The 23nd Annual Dinner Event was held on May 3rd at the White Plains Woman's Club (a National Historic Site), the second year running at this location. President Rob Hoch presided.

An honor guard of war re-enactors led by Trustee Denis Jones presented Old Glory. Trustee Michelle Grieco-Varnit led the Pledge of Allegiance. Pianist Suzanne Hoch accompanied all in the singing of our National Anthem. The invocation was given by Sister Kristin Donworth of The Sisters of Divine Compassion.

Nominating Committee Chairman John Vorperian proclaimed the Nominating Committee's report. Presented for three year terms on the Board of Trustees were Dan Haines, Alan Hartman (filling vacancy for one year), Denis Jones, and George Jones. Presented for one year terms as officers were President Rob Hoch, First Vice President John Vorperian, and Second Vice President Lou DeGenaro. Presented for a five year term as Honorary Trustee was Jack Harrington. All were elected without opposition.

In attendance were Assemblywoman Amy Paulin, Assemblyman Robert Castelli, Westchester County Legislator Bill Ryan, Mayor Tom Roach, and Common Council Members Ben Boykin, Milagros Lecuona, Dennis Krolian, Beth Smayda, John Martin and David Buchwald, Society Members and guests.

The Citizen Extraordinaire Award was conferred upon Dennis Power. His wife, daughter, grandchildren and friends were present to witness this proud moment. Honorary Trustee (and former President) Jack Harrington made the award presentation. This day has been designated as "Dennis Power Day" in the City of White Plains announced Mayor Roach, and also in the County of Westchester made known Legislator Ryan.

Many previous awardees and former government officials were also present.

The guest speaker was writer and historian Joseph Cummins, who spoke on "Anything For A Vote". The talk was lively, entertaining and well received.

Catering was provided by Caperberry. Table centerpieces were provided by Amodio's Garden Center, Nursery and Flowershop.

Woman's Club Entrance
Trustee Denis Jones, Yvonne Gumowitz, Eben Turnure (grandson of one of the founders of the Woman's Club), Jack Ciotti and Brian Shay

Tables Are Ready

Trustee George Jones with volunteers Fran Jones and Riena Kaplow

Cocktail Hour
Liz Shollenberger

"Anything For A Vote"
Joseph Cummins

Judge Robert Friedman and Judge Roseanna Washington

Midge Sanchez, Jack Harrington and Hon. Benjamin Boykin

Trustee Miriam Varian, Laura Vookles and P.J. DeGenaro

Trustee Howard Waldman, Lea Waldman and Councilman/Trustee David Buchwald

Dennis Power, Trustee Michelle Grieco-Varnit, Bruce Handler

Young Guests

Honor Guard

President Rob Hoch

NYS Assemblywoman Amy Paulin

Introduction by Germaine Robinson

Jack Harrington

Dennis Power
Citizen Extraordinaire

Mayor Tom Roach
Proclamation of Dennis Power Day in the City of White Plains

County Legislator Bill Ryan

First VP John VorperianIntroduction of Guest Speaker

Guest Speaker Joseph Cummins

Anything For A Vote
Dirty Tricks, Cheap Shots and October Surprises in U.S. Presidential Elections


Erika Power Cozza, Jack Harrington, and Dennis Power

Riena Kaplow, Lea Waldman, Beth Smayda, Dennis Power, and Fran Jones

Mary Paquet, Larry Paquet, Dennis Power

Dennis & MG Power

Photographs by Lou DeGenaro and Fran Jones