The White Plains Historical Society

Annual Dinner 2014

May 8, 2014 - White Plains, NY.

The "sold out" 25th Annual Dinner Event was held on May 8th at the White Plains Woman's Club (a National Historic Site), the forth year running at this location. President Rob Hoch presided.

An honor guard of war re-enactors led by Trustee Denis Jones presented Old Glory. Trustee Teddy Lee, Jr. led the Pledge of Allegiance. Pianist Suzanne Hoch accompanied all in the singing of our National Anthem. The invocation was given by Rev. Jeff Geary.

Nominating Committee Chairman Lou DeGenaro proclaimed the Nominating Committee's report. Presented for three year terms on the Board of Trustees were Bob Friedman, Michelle Grieco-Varnit, Teddy Lee, Jr., Tony Spinelli and Howard Waldman. Presented for one year terms as officers were President Rob Hoch, First Vice President John Vorperian, and Second Vice President Lou DeGenaro. All were elected without opposition.

In attendance were State Assemblyman David Buchwald, former Westchester County Legislator Bill Ryan, Mayor Tom Roach, and Common Council Members Milagros Lecuona, Dennis Krolian, Beth Smayda, John Martin and John Kirkpatrick, Society Members and guests.

The Citizen Extraordinaire Award was conferred upon Dorothy Schere. Dr. Saul Yanofsky made the award presentation. Certificates from the City of White Plains, the Westchester County Legislature, New York State Assembly and Senate were duly conferred.

Many previous awardees and former government officials were also present.

The guest speaker was author Anthony J. Czarnecki, who spoke on "When Mr. Churchill Came to White Plains". The talk and slide show was comprehensive, informative and enjoyable.

Catering was provided by Caperberry. Table centerpieces were provided by Amodio's Garden Center, Nursery and Flowershop.

Sold Out

Re-enactors at the Front Door

Dining Room

Last Year's Citizen Extraordinaire Bob Roston and Bill Ryan

Mike and Amy Weiner with P.J. DeGenaro

Sign In Table
Fran Jones, Leah Waldman, and Riena Kaplow

State Assemblyman David Buchwald with 2009's Citizen Extraordinaire Stephen Holden, III

Please Take Your Seats

Led by Trustee Denis Jones

Led by Trustee Teddy Lee, Jr.

Rev. Jeff Geary

Dorothy Schere and Saul Yanofsky
Presentation of 2014 Citizen Extraordinaire

Dorothy Schere
with Saul Yanofsky and Pres. Rob Hoch

Post Road School Teachers Present Students' Poetry Poster

Presentation from Mayor Tom Roach

Key Note Address
When Mr. Churchill Came to White Plains
Anthony J. Czarnecki




Photographs by Lou DeGenaro