The White Plains Historical Society

Annual Dinner 2010

May 7, 2015 - White Plains, NY.

The 26th Annual Dinner Event was held on May 7th at the White Plains Woman's Club (a National Historic Site), the 5th year running at this location. President Rob Hoch presided.

An honor guard of war re-enactors led by Trustee Denis Jones presented Old Glory. Trustee Teddy Lee, Jr. led the Pledge of Allegiance. Pianist Suzanne Hoch accompanied all in the singing of our National Anthem. The invocation was given by Pastor Ralph Berg, Our Lady of Mt. Carmel.

Nominating Committee Chairman John Vorperian proclaimed the Nominating Committee's report. Presented for three year terms on the Board of Trustees were Lou DeGenaro, Rob Hoch, Denis Jones, and George Jones. Appointed to fill unexpired terms were Cynthia Kauffman and Debra Palazzo. Presented for one year terms as officers were President Rob Hoch, First Vice President John Vorperian, and Second Vice President Lou DeGenaro. All were elected without opposition.

In attendance were Westchester County Legislator Ben Boykin, State Assemblyman David Buchwald, State Senator George Latimer, Mayor Tom Roach, Common Council Members Milagros Lecuona and Dennis Krolian, former Common Council Member Dennis Power, several previous C.E. awardees, Society Members and guests.

The Citizen Extraordinaire Award was conferred upon Bob Hyland. Check Mercein made the award presentation. Certificates from the City of White Plains, the Westchester County Legislature, New York State Assembly and Senate and the U.S. Congress were duly conferred.

The guest speaker was author Mark Will-Weber, who spoke on "Drinking With The Presidents". The talk and slide show were well received.

Catering was provided by Caperberry. Table centerpieces were provided by Amodio's Garden Center, Nursery and Flowershop.

Table 9

Hors d'oeuvres

Cocktail Hour

Dinner Organizers
Barbara Carlson and George Jones


More Cocktail Hour

Proclamations Galore


Even More Cocktail Hour

Please Take Your Seats
Presideht Rob Hoch

Honor Guard Comprising Re-enactors
Led By Denis Jones

Honor Guard Proceeding Through The Crowd

Led by Teddy Lee, Jr.

Father Ralph Berg

Election of Trustees and Officers
Committee Chair John Vorperian

Chuck Mercein

Bob Hyland
Citizen Extraordinaire

2nd VP Vorperian, Bob Hyland, Chuck Mercein, Pres. Hoch

Mayor Roach

Assemblyman Buchwald

County Legistator Boykin

Mark Will-Weber
Drinking With The Presidents

Photographs by Lou DeGenaro